May 1, 2006

About the Texas Border Coalition

"In 1998 communities from throughout the Texas Border Region came together to form the Texas Border Infrastructure Coalition (TBIC) to develop key recommendations for the 76th Texas Legislature...Today, the organization is known as the Texas Border Coalition (TBC)"

The Vision and Mission

TBC vision is to be recognized leader and authority for the Texas-Mexico region in order to bring attention to the infrastructure needs of the communities along the border.

To make recommendations to the Texas Legislature to help the entire Texas-Mexico border region to continue to grow and prosper economically. To that end, the TBC will work to:

Provide a better quality of life for the residents of the Texas-Mexico border region by providing economic development opportunities and sustainable incomes in a healthy and safe environment.

Make the flow of goods and products between Texas-Mexico as efficient as possible by advocating for the necessary funding needed in the border region.

Advocate federal and state investments and incentives in Transportation, Immigration and Ports of Entry, Workforce and Education, Healthcare and other areas considered vital to the fulfillment of the mission of the TBC.

"Mike A. Allen, featured right, founder and former chairman of the Texas Border Coalition, has announced he will resign from the organization in order to focus on medical treatments for an undisclosed illness. Allen is also stepping down from the McAllen Economic Development Corporation, but he will remain on the South Texas College Board of Trustees."

Committee Members
Transportation Committee
Chair, Honorable Judge Jose “Pepe” Aranda, Maverick County

Immigration and Ports of Entry Committee
Chair, Ms. Monica Stuart, Private Sector

Workforce and Education Committee
Chair, Ms. Wanda F. Garza, South Texas College

Healthcare Committee
Chair, Mr. Jose Rodriguez, Attorney, El Paso County

Lead Council on lawsuit against federal gov.:
Center for Human Rights and Constitutional Law, California baised defender of leftist causes.


City of Alamo
City of Brownsville
City of Del Rio
City of Eagle Pass
City of Edinburg
City of El Paso
City of Harlingen
City of Hidalgo
City of La Joya
City of Laredo
City of McAllen
City of Mercedes
City of Mission
City of Pharr
City of Port Isabel
City of Rio Grande City
City of Roma
City of San Juan
City of Weslaco
Cameron County
Dimmit County
El Paso County
Hidalgo County
Maverick County
Starr County
Terrell County
Val Verde County
Webb County
Zapata County

Special Interest Groups

Chamber of Commerce
Alamo, Browsville, Corpus Christi, Del Rio, Dimmit County, Donna Tourist Center, Eagle Pass, Edinburg, Greater El Paso, Harlingen Area, Hidalgo, Laredo Webb, McAllen, Mercedes Area, Mission, Pharr, RGV Partnership, Roma, San Juan, South Padre Island (SPI), Weslaco Area

Brownsville Economic Development Council
Donna Economic Developmnent
Edinburg Economic Development Corporations
Laredo Development Foundation
Lower Rio Grande Development Council
Maverick County Development Council
McAllen Economic Development Corporation
Middle Rio Grande Development Council
Mission Economic Development Authority
Penitas Economic Development Corporation
Pharr Economic Development Corporation
Rio Grande City Economic Development Corporation
Roma Economic Development Corporation
San Benito Economic Development Corporation
South Padre Island (SPI) Economic Development Corporation
Mercedes Economic Development Corporation
Weslaco Economic Development
Port Isabel Economic Development Corporation

No comments:

Should the Texas State Legislature pass immigration enforcement laws in 2009?